A note about aquaponics.

I have been mentioning aquaponics to you guys here and there.  So I thought I would give you a brief update.My aquaponics system is pretty much complete or at least phase one is completed.

Phase one is: two 4 foot by 20 foot troughs for growing, 250 gallon tank for fish, all the plumbing and wiring for phase two.

Phase two is: the installation of 2 more 4 foot by 20 foot troughs.

Take a wild guest and tell me how many plants you think can be grown in the phase one’s 2 troughs. Take a rough guess. The minimum and the maximum.

Last time I mentioned aquaponics I received and few emails from people wondering what fish I would be using and what fruits and veggies I will be growing.

Here is a little bit of the info about that. The fish are Tilapia.

Inside the troughs there are mosquito fish (I apologize for the blurry picture possibly I wash’t paying close attention it’s not my fault. I am sure there was some sort of solar flare happening which obstructed my view.)

These little guys will help keep the mosquito population down, and they  will add a little nutrients to the system, but not much. There is also an air bubbler in each trough adding oxygen for the plants and fish. The nice side effect of the air bubbler is that it too will help keep the mosquitos at bay.

Currently I have bunching onions, spinach, tasoi, oak leaf lettuce, and alyssum. I have started the seeds for several other goodies as well. I’ll keep you posted on that also.

This adorable little kiddo doesn’t come with the system, but I don’t think I would complain if he did. He is adorable and rather knowledgeable about aquaponics (probably more so than me). The funny thing about this picture is that he is pointing out a plastic shaving that shouldn’t be in the water and instructing me to take it out so it didn’t hurt the fish. By the way he did name a few of the fish for me.

A few people have asked who I hired to design the system. The answer Zac Hosler from Living Aquaponics Farm on the Big Island. Zac designed and built the system. I couldn’t recommend him highly enough; he did a great job and was incredibly easy to work with.

Last but not least. This little feathered friend is no longer with us which was a bit hard…I just love ducks.

Don’t worry he didn’t die. We had to scare him away. He poohed in the system one too many times. Once was more than enough for me. I’ve been making it a habit to try and avoid salmonella and ecoli when ever possible.

Well, that is it for right now. I am going to do a few posts of aquaponics so you have something to look forward to.

Until next time…

Em

One thought on “A note about aquaponics.

Leave a Reply

